Historien

"I hear that the Princess agreed to see the stranger and sent him to her brother with a letter of reference? This is absolutely unbelievable!" Marcel Pagnol

In the 60's, Marcel, who had always been a history lover, immersed himself in the Iron Mask mystery. He was convinced that his work as a historian would lead him to go down in history more than his novels or films would.

Le masque de fer ("The Iron Mask")

Historical essay. Monte-Carlo, Pastorelly, 1964. Revised publication under the title Le Secret du Masque de fer ("The Secret of the Iron Mask"), ibid., 1973.

First Edition

Paris, Editions de Provence, 1964.

Summary

Conscientious and highly documented historical study on the mysterious character imprisoned for life by Louis XIV. Helped by some Academician friends working in Vatican, Marcel Pagnol thought he had penetrated the mystery: the Iron Mask was nobody but the king's twin brother, which explained such relentlessness and the mask concealing a face identical to the royal face. Published in 1965, Marcel Pagnol rewrote it in 1973 under the title "LE SECRET DU MASQUE DE FER" ("THE SECRET OF THE IRON MASK") as he had found additional elements to support his thesis.

The king finds it reasonable that you travel from the islands to the Bastille with you former prisoner, taking the necessary precautions to keep him unseen and unknown to everyone." So the face is a famous one and the above letters include a very noteworthy sentence. The day before departure for the Bastille, the minister wrote: "Taking the necessary precautions to keep him unseen and unknown to everyone." One can think that the word "unknown" might here be understood as "unidentified". At school, we read in our philosophy books: "To know is to identify." Furthermore, saying that this man is known may be not enough. This face being hidden behind the mask and in a litter as soon as he approaches the outskirts of Paris, being unrevealed to Lauzun, to du Junca and to the doctor in Bastille, proves that such face is certainly known in Paris. It being so cautiously hidden from the old priest of Exiles, from sentries, escort guards, provençal peasants we might come across on the journey between Exiles and Sainte-Marguerite, being hidden from the peasants in Le Palteau, proves that such face is a famous one. In a time deprived of photographs, illustrated papers, films and television, the only face that could be identified anywhere by anybody was the king's, as everyone could find it in one's pocket on coins.

Historien

"La Princesse aurait donc reçu cet inconnu et l'aurait envoyé à son frère avec une lettre de recommandation ? C'est parfaitement invraisemblable !" Marcel Pagnol

Dans les années 60, Marcel, depuis toujours passionné d'histoire, se plonge dans l'énigme du Masque de fer. Il est persuadé que son œuvre d'historien le fera passer à la postérité, plus que ses romans ou ses films.

Le masque de fer

Essai historique. Monte-Carlo, Pastorelly, 1964. Édition remaniée sous le titre Le Secret du Masque de fer, ibid., 1973.

Edition originale

Paris, Editions de Provence, 1964.

Résumé

Etude historique scrupuleuse et très documentée sur le mystérieux personnage emprisonné par Louis XIV durant toute sa vie. Avec l'aide d'amis académiciens en poste au Vatican, Marcel Pagnol pense avoir percé le mystère : le Masque de Fer n'était autre que le frère jumeau du roi. Ce qui explique cet acharnement et ce masque qui cachait un visage identique au visage royal. Publié en 1965 Marcel Pagnol l'a repris en 1973 sous le titre "LE SECRET DU MASQUE DE FER" ayant trouvé d'autres éléments pour étayer sa thèse.

Le roi trouve bon que vous passiez des îles à la Bastille avec votre ancien prisonnier, prenant vos précautions pour empêcher qu'il ne soit vu ni connu de personne." Il s'agit donc d'un visage connu et il y a, dans les lettres citées plus haut, un phrase très remarquable. A la veille du départ pour la Bastille, le ministre écrit : "En prenant vos précautions pour qu'il ne soit vu ni connu de personne". Est-ce que "connu" n'a pas ici le sens de "reconnu"? Les manuels de philosophie, au lycée, nous ont dit : "Connaître, c'est reconnaître." De plus, lorsque je dis que cet homme est connu, ce n'est peut-être pas assez dire. Que l'on cache ce visage sous le masque et dans une litière aux approches de Paris, qu'on le cache à Lauzun, à du Junca, au médecin de la Bastille, cela prouve qu'il doit être connu à Paris. Qu'on le cache avec tant de précautions au vieux curé d'Exiles, aux sentinelles, aux soldats de l'escorte, aux paysans provençaux que l'on pourrait rencontrer sur la route, entre Exiles et Sainte-Marguerite, qu'on le cache aux paysans du Palteau, c'est la preuve que ce visage est célèbre. A une époque sans photographies, sans journaux illustrés, sans cinéma et sans télévision, le seul visage reconnaissable partout, c'était celui du roi, que tout le monde avait dans sa poche, sur les pièces de monnaie.